Cell Phone Left Behind

Such a nice day to drive north just past Willow.  It was a drive of reflection as the road once travelled is rarely taken now.  I past Faye Harter’s place and remembered visiting her as she lived in a conex.  Truly a pioneer woman and dear friend.  I offered the eulogy at her funeral.  I passed the road to Ladasa and the church.  For eighteen years we drove this route twice a week for church and activities.  So strange, to have it all changed now.  I looked out for the fire damage from last year’s devastating Willow fire.  Some of the charred trees are now budding brush.   I passed the road the missionaries lived on and remembered the food drop offs and the good times.  I headed further north until the speed limit sign changed it from 55 mph to 65 mph and then I veered into the pull-off on the opposite side of the road. It was there I met up with Mike who drove south from Talkeetna to grab his forgotten phone.  The drive had a duo purpose.

Leave a comment