True Story

This story is the absolute truth.  If I had a video you would believe it more.  If  had a video I would be on TV for sure.   I went to visit a friend this evening and because we are down a vehicle I took the old blue truck.  Leslie lives in a four plex and you have to pull up a big hill to get to the parking spots at the top.  I put on the emergency brake because of all the snow and ice and went in for a nice hour long visit.  When I came out I pulled the lever to release the brake but accidentally popped the hood instead.  I opened my door, slid down since this truck is high and rather tough to get into and pushed down on the hood.  As I was ready to get back in I looked more carefully to where the brake release was and pulled it.  The truck began to roll – and fast.  I grabbed on the steering wheel and pulled myself in and pushed on the brake.  I was halfway down the hill before I got the truck stopped and turned.  How I managed to pull myself up into the truck while it was rolling is a mystery to me and always will be?   My adrenalin must have been on maximum.  Looking back I don’t think I put “old blue” in park when I first got there but I don’t really know.  It was an extremely harrowing experience and I was in shock that I did it.  My arms feel sore but no damage was done to “old blue.”  I keep thinking how fast and hard that truck would have rolled, down the hill, across the road and into someone’s house.    Trust me to put on a spectical.

IMG_6850

Leave a comment