Naturally Graceful

While emptying the bag of my little green Ryobi mower I noticed my ferns were thick and ravishingly beautiful.  I’ve written about ferns before.  I just love them.  I could have ferns around my entire house and no flowers and I would be in jungle heaven.  This person who wrote this is so amazing – these words are so perfect.  So listen in.  “Just what is it about ferns that captures our imagination? Probably not their ancient lineage, stretching back far beyond dinosaurs to a time that is impossibly distant for most people’s comprehension. Is it their sheer diversity of form, then, or the natural grace of their curving fronds, or the fascination of an uncoiling fiddle-head that is the secret to their appeal? Or do names such as “adder’s tongue,” “moonwort,” “maidenhair” and “spleenwort” appeal to our psyches by hinting at secret uses in a mystical past? Whatever the reason, ferns today enjoy a popularity among plant-lovers that is rivaled only by orchids and roses.” 

 

Leave a comment